OpenERP Appliance

Collaboration Works

alfresco-installation-script-for-ubuntu9.04.sh

This script automates the setting up of Alfresco Community on Ubuntu Server 9.0.4 & Ubuntu Desktop 9.0.4.

Alfresco is an enterprise content management system for Microsoft Windows and Unix-like operating systems. Alfresco comes in two flavours . Alfresco Community Edition is free software, GPL licensed open source and open standards, but never officially stable. Alfresco Enterprise Edition is commercially / proprietary licensed open source, open standards and enterprise scale. Its design is geared towards users who require a high degree of modularity and scalable performance. Alfresco includes a content repository, an out-of-the-box web portal framework for managing and using standard portal content, a CIFS interface that provides file system compatibility on Microsoft Windows and Unix-like operating systems, a web content management system capable of virtualizing webapps and static sites via Apache Tomcat, Lucene indexing, and jBPM workflow. The Alfresco system is developed using Java technology.

Requirements: A fresh installation of Ubuntu Server 9.0.4 or Ubuntu Desktop 9.0.4. Apache is installed by this script. This means that the script expects to deal with default config files. TIP: test this script within a Virtual Machine after installing Ubuntu 9.04 from scratch.

Run the script as non-root with the following commands:

$ sudo apt-get install gzip
$ gzip -d alfresco-installation-script-for-ubuntu9.04.sh.gz
$ chmod +x alfresco-installation-script-for-ubuntu9.04.sh
$ ./alfresco-installation-script-for-ubuntu9.04.sh

You will be asked for:
1) The DNS Name your Alfresco service will be available at
2) IP address your Alfresco service will be listening on
3) Your LANG
4) Etc.

Your brandnew Alfresco Community Edition will be reached with a web browser at:
http://YOUR-DNS-NAME/alfresco/faces/ (admin/admin)
http://YOUR-DNS-NAME/alfresco (guest)
Language Pack Installation: http://wiki.alfresco.com/wiki/Language_Pack_Installation

August 3, 2009 - Posted by | Content Management Systems (CMS), Scripting, Turnkey, Ubuntu Desktop, Ubuntu Server Canonical |

47 Comments »

  1. hiho …

    … any idea if the script will work under 8.04 LTS by using the apt-sources from jaunty ?

    Comment by ElMuchacho | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • I never tried Jaunty/9.04 repositores on Hardy/8.04.. but I don’t think this can work.

      As it seems like there are no Alfresco repositores for Hardy, I recommend to install Alfresco’s source code on Ubuntu 8.04 LTS.

      Comment by I. Fernández | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. right now I’ve installed a server 9.04 from scratch and after update + upgrade ur installer is running 😉
    hope, this will help for my first tests in integrating alfresco in zarafa …

    Comment by ElMuchacho | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • ok …
      it’s running …
      tried to change lang-pack to german …
      but … how to restart alfresco ?
      no init-script ?
      usually alfresco.sh … didn’t found it ;(

      Comment by ElMuchacho | September 16, 2009 | Reply

      • Restart Alfresco by restarting Tomcat (servlets container):

        sudo /etc/init.d/tomcat6 restart
        or
        sudo service tomcat6 restart

        Apache can then be restarted with:

        sudo /etc/init.d/apache2 restart
        or
        sudo service apache2 restart

        Comment by opensourceconsultant | September 16, 2009 | Reply

      • ty … works

        Comment by elmuchacho | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  3. language-pack install ok …
    but option for language selection can’t be edited in case of missing “web-client-config-custom.xml” …

    Comment by elmuchacho | September 16, 2009 | Reply

    • Seems like there’s no sample file for “web-client-config-custom.xml”… Maybe you can try to create it and add your language locale as specified in the wiki page.

      Comment by opensourceconsultant | September 16, 2009 | Reply

  4. Cool. Thanks.
    I have the web interface up, but there’s no Share site and no access to the CIFS. Any idea what I might be doing wrong?

    Comment by David Baker | September 17, 2009 | Reply

    • Ah, yes — I found out how to get to the Share web site, but I still can’t seem to get the CIFS interface from within Windows…

      Comment by David Baker | September 17, 2009 | Reply

      • When running the Alfresco CIFS server under linux make sure that the firewall is open for CIFS access

        Comment by I. Fernández | September 17, 2009 | Reply

      • I just turned of the firewall completely on my Alfresco server and on my Windows box. Still no CIFS. Did anybody else get CIFS working with this script? Thanks for the help!

        Comment by David Baker | September 17, 2009 | Reply

      • As this is a configuration issue, If I were you I would take a look at Alfresco Community’s docs and Alfresco’s forum.

        Comment by I. Fernández | September 17, 2009 | Reply

      • Finally got CIFS going along with everything else. I’ve written a short How-To on how I got it working. Check it out at http://www.davidbaker.cc/?q=node/3

        Comment by David Baker | September 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. After installation I can reach only alfresco/share
    alfresco/faces gets me back this error:

    HTTP Status 404 – /faces/

    type Status report

    message /faces/

    description The requested resource (/faces/) is not available.
    Apache Tomcat/6.0.18

    Comment by Pietro | September 28, 2009 | Reply

  6. Hi David, thanks for you Howto. Appreciated.

    Comment by I. Fernández | September 30, 2009 | Reply

  7. Installed on virgin 9.04 server. After many false starts on other distros/versions this was as smooth as butter.

    Thanks a lot for saving me lots of time…pity I didn’t find this sooner.

    Good work.

    — r

    Comment by rdb | October 1, 2009 | Reply

  8. This worked fantastic. Thank you. CIFS didnt’ work but I don’t need it so its no biggie.
    I have a big big favor to ask you…
    I got another server with centos 5.4 x86_64 but running into so many hair pulling moments… can I trouble you for a script that can do this for centos?

    Comment by jasmine | November 20, 2009 | Reply

  9. The script worked great! However, what needs to be done in order to make other computers on the network see this? Thanks!

    Comment by Matt | December 2, 2009 | Reply

    • Hi Matt,

      Update your DNS system with your chosen DNS Name to make this Alfresco service available on your network.

      KR,

      Comment by I. Fernández | December 6, 2009 | Reply

  10. what a typo: In your script, you set the localhost to 127.0.1.1 and not to 127.0.0.1!!!

    Comment by pelle | January 15, 2010 | Reply

    • Take a look at ubuntu’s hosts file: 127.0.0.1 and 127.0.1.1 are set up by default

      Comment by opensourceconsultant | January 18, 2010 | Reply

  11. Any idea if the script will work under9.10 server edition?
    Otherwise what I need to change to make it works?
    any help is really appreciable.

    Comment by agbrand | January 27, 2010 | Reply

  12. I tried your script but and i get for both pages HTTP Status 404 .

    Ubuntu 9.04

    Any clue?

    Thanks in advance

    Comment by Rub | February 3, 2010 | Reply

    • firefox versus Ubuntu graph is inentrstieg. Being a trained skeptic, here’s the first set of questions it brings up in my head. Why are people searching google for the term firefox? Are most firefox queries done by firefox users? Are the being done by people looking to install firefox? What would happen if firefox was pre-installed and was the default browser would the google queries involving the firefox term go down significantly? How often do users of firefox query google for firefox versus how often non-users of firefox query google about firefox?I use firefox. I don’t make a habit of googling for it. Do you? Do you make it a habit of googling for information about firefox, while actively using it on a daily basis?Now replace firefox with Ubuntu in my questions and see if you come up with the same sort of intuition with regard to how to explain the querying habits. Google trends are difficult to understand without having some sort of mental model that explains querying habits. If you don’t have confidence in same mental model to explain the query habits for both the firefox and Ubuntu terms they might not be good comparisons even though the trends are similar.-jef

      Comment by Dipesh | January 14, 2013 | Reply

  13. Hi Rub,

    This script is interactive and simple compared to the openerp allinone installer..

    You will be asked for your right IP address and your mysql admin password. If your mysql password is not correct, you won’t get access to the backend. Your mysql admin password will be asked twice: 1) to set it up. 2) to gain access from alfresco.

    Actually I’ve just tested it again on a fresh install of Ubuntu 9.04 and still seems to be working fine…

    Comment by I. Fernández | February 4, 2010 | Reply

  14. […] alfresco-installation-script-for-ubuntu9.04.sh « Open Source Consulting This script automates the setting up of Alfresco Community on Ubuntu Server 9.0.4 & Ubuntu Desktop 9.0.4. (tags: ubuntu alfresco reference) […]

    Pingback by Webhamer Weblog: Search & ICT-related blogging » links for 2010-05-19 | May 20, 2010 | Reply

  15. I know I can get 1000’s of PLR articles from ebay and a few discussion board members, but once more the standard of these I’ve seen will not be good and many I’d be ashamed of to placed on any site I own. A fundamental requirement is excellent English, an informative article, and an affordable worth with hopefully 20+ articles like health, boats, golf, cars, journey, etc..

    Comment by plr articles for sale | November 27, 2011 | Reply

    • Annie/Paul I didn\’t really use a reipce just sort of threw things together: crisp up some pancetta, then add carrots, celery, onion sauteed in olive oil, throw in some garlic, salt, thyme, then can of crushed tomatoes, chicken broth, chopped zucchini, white beans and cooked elbow macaroni. Simmer. Throw in spinach at the end. Sprinkle with grated parm. Sip wine and enjoy.

      Comment by Angelica | September 14, 2013 | Reply

    • I stay near Pizza da Donato and used to take away the pizza slices for diennr after work. However it appears that the standards has dropped quite a bit after the Italian owner closed his restaurant joint down the road and concentrated his efforts on this hole in the wall shop. More tomato base (but spread very thinly across the pizza), less ingredients, you get the gist. Let me know if you think it’s still good 🙂

      Comment by Oilly | October 18, 2013 | Reply

  16. “providential” sneaker isabel marant

    Comment by sneaker isabel marant | August 24, 2012 | Reply

  17. Hey! I know this is somewhat off topic but I was wondering if you knew where I could find a captcha plugin for my comment form?
    I’m using the same blog platform as yours and I’m having trouble finding one?
    Thanks a lot!

    Comment by Air Conditioner | June 19, 2013 | Reply

  18. Triptans are a popular medication for the sciatica back exercisess suffered by Serene Branson and me, go directly
    for medical help. Pioneering Important Molecular StructuresStevens’s laboratory at TSRI has
    pioneered the development of a Headache. How to Prevent MigrainesCertain steps can be taken after consulting a registered homeopath.
    Menstruation cycle in women and changes in the brain.
    Sometimes external social and psychological factors work
    as a physician.

    Comment by sciatica spinal decompression | October 17, 2013 | Reply

  19. I don’t even know how I stopped up here, but I thought this
    submit used to be great. I don’t recognize who you’re however certainly you’re going to a famous blogger when you
    aren’t already. Cheers!

    Comment by Leia | December 17, 2013 | Reply

  20. Thanks for your sharing. It really helped me to know the details. Someone asked me how to import steel flanges and elbows from China? Why not try Fame Rise Flange Co.,ltd? This is a professional manufacturer for pipe fittings. At the same time, I hope your posts will help more people all over the world.

    Comment by pipe fittings | February 27, 2014 | Reply

  21. If you find most of these game day jerseys at an all in one normal store or otherwise from going to be the official splash page of an NFL team,youcheapjerseysaleonline2013comment may not care either take your time if that’s so exceeding $100.

    Comment by tbutsexetg@gmail.com | April 7, 2014 | Reply

  22. Was initially actually searching for just a normal shower enclosures during which i found this web site, wouldn’t have any idea there was such a thing
    as a ‘steam shower enclosure’, fantastic, might possibly just have to get one

    Comment by app.box.com | April 28, 2014 | Reply

  23. What’s up, everything is going nicely here and ofcourse every one is sharing data,
    that’s actually good, keep up writing.

    Comment by Credit365 | July 28, 2014 | Reply

  24. Hey I know this is off topic but I was wondering if you knew of any
    widgets I could add to my blog that automatically tweet my newest twitter updates.
    I’ve been looking for a plug-in like this for quite some time
    and was hoping maybe you would have some experience with something
    like this. Please let me know if you run into anything.
    I truly enjoy reading your blog and I look forward to your new updates.

    Comment by http://www.expatproblems.com/31248/fast-advice-in-tri-kredtu-atjaunint | August 1, 2014 | Reply

  25. Hello to every one, it’s genuinely a nice for me to go
    to see this website, it contains valuable Information.

    Comment by google | August 1, 2014 | Reply

  26. I do not even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post
    was great. I do not know who you are but definitely you are going to a famous blogger if you
    are not already 😉 Cheers!

    Comment by beach body workout for men | August 25, 2014 | Reply

  27. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have truly
    enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to
    your feed and I hope you write again soon!

    Comment by bobo drinks | September 14, 2014 | Reply

  28. It’s difficult to find knowledgeable people in this particular subject, but you seem like you know what you’re talking about!
    Thanks

    Comment by Rufus | October 3, 2014 | Reply


Leave a Reply

